Library Logo

About the library

Summary of Archives:

Astronomical Institution of Edinburgh (and earlier) 1764-1834

Thomas Henderson 1834-1844

Charles Piazzi Smyth 1845-1888

Dunecht: James Ludovic Lindsay 26th Earl of Crawford 1871-1875

Ralph Copeland 1889-1905

Frank Watson Dyson 1905-1910

Ralph Allan Sampson 1910-1937

Charles Piazzi Smyth Archives

Sketchbooks, manuscripts and printed material: on permanent loan from the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Photographic plates

Slides, engravings